No guarantor required! Weekly and monthly rates available. Good for short and long-term stay.
Takehara city in Hiroshima prefecture is designated as a preservation district and well known as a city that has tasteful traditional streets. Saiho-ji is a temple believed to be established in 1560 on a hill that overlooks the city of Takehara. Among the buildings in the precinct, the most popular one is Fumeikaku, the building that enshrines the statue of Kannon. Its superb hall was constructed in the manner of a stage to resemble the famous temple in Kyoto, Kiyomizu-dera. Vermillion-lacquered Fumeikaku can be seen from everywhere in town and regarded as a symbolic building in Takehara. The scenery from here is also magnificent! You can get a panoramic view of the sea, mountains, and townscape.
- 3-10-44 Honmachi, Takehara-shi, Hiroshima
- Contact No.
- 15-min walk from JR Takehara station.
- Official Website
- Time Required
- 60 minutes
※ Some information is displayed in Japanese and machine-translated English, which may not be accurate.
For the latest information, please check the official website for each spot.
Vermillion-lacquered Fumeikaku is a representative building in Saiho-ji. It was built in 1758 on the model of Kiyomizu-dera in Kyoto. It has a unique feature of double roofs with traditional tiles. It enshrines an important cultural asset designated by Hiroshima, wooden standing statue of the eleven-headed Kannon.
The Stage of Fumeikaku that Overlooks the Townscape of Takehara
The Stage of Fumeikaku has a stunning view of the townscape of Takehara and the Inland Sea. This view is so stunning that it is said that most people who visit Takehara come to see it. This place has appeared in a popular anime in Japan and attracts many fans. The beautiful sunset is also well known.
Townscape Preservation Districts
Saiho-ji is located in Takehara, a city that is called “a little Kyoto in Aki" (an old name of Hiroshima) for its elegant townscapes resemble that of Kyoto. Takehara has been developed as a port town, a town of salt and brewing industry for 400 years. It was designated as a Preservation District for Groups of Historic Buildings in 1982. You can see the tasteful streets lined with buildings of white walls and lattice bay windows.